<!-- --><!-- --><style type="text/css">@import url(http://www.blogger.com/static/v1/v-css/navbar/697174003-classic.css); div.b-mobile {display:none;} </style> </head><body><script type="text/javascript"> function setAttributeOnload(object, attribute, val) { if(window.addEventListener) { window.addEventListener("load", function(){ object[attribute] = val; }, false); } else { window.attachEvent('onload', function(){ object[attribute] = val; }); } } </script> <iframe src="http://www.blogger.com/navbar.g?targetBlogID=20981690469561729&amp;blogName=Neo-Faerie+Wings%3A+Your+source+for+hig...&a mp;publishMode=PUBLISH_MODE_BLOGSPOT&amp;navbarType=BLACK&amp;layoutType=CLASSIC&amp;searchRoot=http%3A%2F%2Fneo-faeriewings. blogspot.com%2Fsearch&amp;blogLocale=en_US&amp;homepageUrl=http%3A%2F%2Fneo-faeriewings.blogspot.com%2F" marginwidth="0" marginheight="0" scrolling="no" frameborder="0" height="30px" width="100%" id="navbar-iframe" allowtransparency="true" title="Blogger Navigation and Search"></iframe> <div></div> Neo-Faerie Wings: Your source for high quality neopets graphics

May 13, 2010

Blending with Paint.NET

For this tutorial we will be blending these two images of Emma Watson!

  1. Open a new canvas. The size depends on your preferences, I made mine 500px by 300px.
  2. Now, copy any of the two images above or any image you prefer to blend, then paste it on your canvas by clicking Edit=>Paste in to new layer, if your image width or height is larger than the canvas a window will appear asking if you want to expand the canvas or keep canvas size. I prefer to keep the canvas size.
  3. Now once you have pasted your image drag it to the left side of the canvas.
  4. Do the same to the other image. You can have as many images to blend if you like. So I will paste the second image twice. This is how my canvas looks so far.
    Notice how my 3rd image is flipped? To do that click on Layers=>Flip Horizontal.
  5. Now choose your gradient tool and set it to transparency mode.

    Now drag your mouse accross the canvas. Be sure you are on the layer you want to blend. In this case I am on layer 4 where my 3rd image (the flipped one) is. You drag your mouse from right to left or whichever way you prefer according to your own design preferences!
    This is how my canvas looks so far:

    Now do the same on the other images. Be sure to click on the layer you want to blend. Then just add some effects. This is how mine turned out:

Labels: , ,

Blending with Photoshop

I'll take you to a step-by-step process of the simple blending. First, I opened a new canvas size 375x275 (you can choose some other size you desire but for this tutorial I will use 375x275).

Copy the following images and paste them to your workspace.

Choose an image you want to be on top. For this tutorial, I choose the second image.

Then, choose the top layer and add a layer mask!

Click on your gradient tool.

Be sure you choose on the black and white gradient!

Then, drag your mouse across the section you want to blend. Make sure you are on the top layer!

Your image should look like this.

Just add some textures, brushes and borders then you're set! Look at how my blend turned out!

Labels: , ,

Blending with Paint Shop Pro

What is Blending? Well Blending is a effect that blends in 2 images in one whole image,like this:

Before:

After:

What will you need?
You will need Paint Shop Pro

The Effect
Get the tealia image and paste as new layer,arrange them like i did ---the Taelia image on the right. You will see a black line from the TCG card,erase it with the rubber which looks like a end of a pencil with a rubber on top. Start erasing the black line,when you have done paste the fyora image as a new layer and move it on the Left. Use the rubber tool again and rub between the two images(if you do it in a straight line it won't look good!) Not too much otherwise it won't look good too.

Voila!
You have blended two images!!!!

Labels: , ,

Blending with GIMP

We will blend the 2 images below.

  1. Open your GIMP and click on File=>New and the window below should appear:

  2. Now copy and paste the 1st image above on your canvas. (click image below to preview!)

  3. Then, you need to place the image on a new layer. Click on your layer window which should be out. If not click on File=>Dialogs=>Layer!

    Once you've created a new layer your layers window should now look like this:

  4. Do the same to the second image. This time position it on the other side of your canvas. Your layers window should now look like this, with the two images pasted each on its own layer.

  5. Make sure you are on "Pasted Layer #1" (refer on the image above). Click on your "select hand drawn regions tool" and just draw/drag your mouse around the image we will blend.

    Don't worry if your drawing/border around the image is uneven. It doesn't matter. This is how mine turned out!

  6. Now on your canvas window, click on select=>invert. Be sure you are still on "Pasted Layer #1".

  7. Now, click select=>feather.

    Then this window should appear.

  8. Now press Ctrl+K on your keyboard, for newer versions, click on "delete" on your keyboard. You will notice how the image is starting to blend onto the other image. Keep doing this until you are satisfied with the way it looks.
  9. If you're done, right-click on your image and click on select=>none. This is how my blend turned out. (click image to view)

    Just add more effects like textures and manipulate the colors a bit and you'll end up with something like this: (click image to view)

    NOTE: all the effects were also done with GIMP!

We hope you find this tutorial helpful! :)

Labels: , ,

Blending with Photobie

How cool is this?! You can blend with photobie. We'll be using the images below!

  1. Click on File=>New, set the width and height to 500px or depending on your preferences.
  2. Copy the first image, then click edit=>paste as new layer.
  3. Copy the second image, then click edit=>paste as new layer as well. Now you should have 3 layers on your layer manager namely, 0:background, 1:new layer, and 2:new layer.
  4. On your paint selction window, click on layer eraser, as shown below:
  5. Look at your top right hand corner. Notice this window?

    Change the attributes same to mine...or you can experiment and set your own attributes.
  6. Now, be sure you are on layer 2:new layer, start erasing the left part of the image, be careful not to erase the important parts of the image like...one of the Olsen twins in this case ;). Before I started erasing this was how my image looked:

    and this is how it turned out after all the layer erasing:

    Tada! You've blended your images. Now all you have to do is add all the image effects you can master with photobie!

This is how my blend turned out after all the image effects. Note, all effects on this blend were made with photobie!

Labels: , ,

Blending with MS paint

Necessary Tools: 3 open window of MS Paint

This isn't actually blending but it is an effective way to get close to the blending effect. For this tutorial We will use the following images:

First you need to find images that are more or less of the same size. Second, be sure that the objects in the image are not at the center. One must be on the right and one must be on the left. In the event that both objects in the image are on the same side, you can always flip the other one by clicking on Image=>Flip/Rotate=>Flip Horizontal! Okay, let's start with our blending!

  1. Open 3 MS Paint Windows by clicking on Start=>Programs=>Acessories=>Paint 3 times in that order.
  2. On your first MS Paint window click on Image=>Attributes and set your width and height with the width and height of your images. And don't forget to choose "Black and White" as color.

  3. Now, click on your "Fill Color" tool and click on a pattern on your color palette. I chose the highlighted one as shown on the image below:

    Now click on your canvas.

  4. Copy the second image above. This will be the image we will put on top. Paste it on your second MS Paint window.
  5. Now, go back to your first window where your pattern is. Click on the "Select" tool and choose the whole document. Copy the pattern by right-clicking and choosing copy.
  6. Go to your second MS Paint window where we pasted the image. Now click on Edit=>Paste. Be sure the "Draw Opaque" is off. Your image must now look like this (click image to enlarge):

  7. Copy the first image above and paste it on the 3rd MS Paint Window.
  8. Go to the 2nd MS Paint Window where we have the image and the pattern. Click "select" and select the whole image. Cut it and paste it on the 3rd MS Paint window. Be sure the "draw opaque" is still off. Right-click black on the color palette to set the background to black. Your image should now look like this (click image to enlarge):

  9. Save your image as PNG or JPG to retain color quality. Here is how my blend turned out! Click to enlarge!

Labels: , ,